Smuckers as of 1/22/08

According to Gluten Free Steve, and a phone rep at Smuckers,

I called them today to make sure the apricot preserves I bought was safe, and was told that all of their jams, jellies and preserves are gluten free. Go Smuckers!

I’ll second that Steve. Go Smuckers! Guilt free, and Gluten free Jamming…

McCormick Spices as of 08/29/2007

Excerpt of an email from McCormick Spices:

Thank you for contacting us regarding your special allergies and intolerances to gluten.  We understand that there are a growing number of people that have gluten concerns.  We would like to take this opportunity to provide some additional information and let you know that there are many products available to you that will add the flavor you desire.

We often get the request for a list of our gluten-free products.  We do not provide a list because we want you checking the ingredient statements of our products.   McCormick can guarantee you the following:

1. All of our single ingredient spices are gluten-free.  Our single ingredient spices are 100% pure, with nothing additional added to them.
2. All of our extracts are gluten-free.  They are made with a synthetic Ethyl Alcohol, not a grain-based alcohol.
3. If our products have gluten in them, it will be listed clearly in the ingredient statement.  We do not hide any allergens under “natural flavors” or “spices.” This pertains mainly to our Dry Seasoning mixes and some blends.  An example is our Beef Stew Seasoning Mix.  This contains gluten, and states, “Wheat Gluten,” in the ingredient statement.
4. McCormick goes a step further.  If an ingredient is derived from wheat source, such as Maltodextrin, it will be listed as “Maltodextrin (WHEAT), in the ingredient statement.
5. McCormick follows good manufacturing practices at our plants and takes extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of mislabeling or cross-contamination.

If we can be of further assistance, please call us a 1-800-632-5847, Monday through Friday, 9:30AM to 5PM Eastern Time.

McCormick is obviously a very allergen aware company.  It’s reassuring to know that they clearly label all Wheat and Gluten on their labels rather than hiding it as “natural flavors” or “spices”.  A very clear example of why it’s good to read the labels of anything you buy.

Arby’s as of August 8, 2007

From an email from Arby’s:

Proteins, without bread or buns: roast beef, ham, turkey, corned beef and Grilled Chicken Fillet. [Breaded chicken fillet and tenders and the Diced-Grilled are NOT GF.]
Cheeses, natural and processed.
Peppered bacon.
Baked potatoes only [Plain, or with butter and gluten-free seasonings. About 10% of our restaurants offer baked potatoes.]
Fresh Fruit Cup.
Milkshakes.

I cannot recommend any of the other potato products, though, because, in their cooking at the restaurant, there is the chance they will share fryer-space with wheat flour-based coated items. And then you should be made aware of this: the Curly Fries are coated, and there is gluten added as a part of that formulation and preparation by our supplier. Their preparation in the same oil as that used for Homestyle Fries and Potato Cakes takes out all three as option.”

“If you are aware of our re-designed website, www.arbys.com 20
(http://www.arbys.com/) , then you know it shows something about food allergens or sensitivity agents. You need now only be able to check components of the menu items, and this tactic should work: select nutrition from the cover page; select the category of interest lets use the Arbys Chicken Naturals as an example then select to view the allergen listings and go. Next, beside any specific menu item in a category for example, Chicken Fillet Sandwich Grilled hit the triangle that appears to the left of the name, and see that a component listing displays with an option to look at ingredient statements just wand over that option, and the ingredients appear. Unfortunately, one cannot print from this display. Or, you can look at the dots indicating the presence of major allergens in each component. This nutrition section will show you the ingredient lists for almost all the components of our menu items. On this last point, perhaps you should consult the website to be certain of menu items, such as condiments, being GF.

Not the best of news for Celiac sufferers. A very limited list of Gluten Free items and a longer list of items that could be if they took certain precautions in their preparation.  Unfortunately, they don’t.  It looks like that eliminates Arby’s from most lists of places to eat out.

Uno Chicago Grill

Uno Chicago Grill has a nutritional page on their website that also has a list of their Gluten Free options. Of course, the menu’s at many restaurants change rather regularly, so you’ll want to check beforehand or make sure and ask a server or manager to double check.

The list is available at: http://www.unos.com/kiosk/nutritionUnos.html

The List includes (As of 08/08/2007):

  • Freezers
    • Strawberry Smoothie
    • Chocolate Monkey
    • Tropical Fruit Freezer
    • Raspberry Lime Ricky
    • Wild Mango Smoothie
  • Fab Firsts
    • BBQ Pork Stick
  • Chicken
    • Chicken Gorgonzola
    • Grilled Simple Chicken
  • Desserts
    • Ice Cream Sundae (vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce)
  • Burgers (ordered without Buns and Ultimate Burger Sauce)
    • Uno Burger
    • Uno Burger with cheddar
    • Uno Burger with cheddar and bacon
    • Uno Burger with cheddar and vegetables
    • Kid’s Cheeseburger
  • Great Greens (ordered without croutons and breadstick)
    • House salad
    • Classic Cobb Salad
    • Greek Salad ( without roasted marinated peppers)
  • Smoke, Sizzle, and Splash
    • NY Strip steak
    • Top Sirloin steak
    • Chop House Classic
    • Lemon Basil Salmon
    • BBQ Grilled Shrimp
    • Baby Back Ribs
    • BBQ Pork Sticks
  • Sides
    • Steamed Broccoli
    • Steamed or Roasted seasonal vegetables
    • Mashed Potato
    • Smashed Cauliflower

Heinz Gluten Free Products: Via Heinz.com

From the Heinze FAQ:

Heinz Ketchup and Heinz Organic Ketchup do not contain any gluten (the distilled vinegar used is from corn sources). Also, Wine Vinegar, Distilled White Vinegar and Apple Cider Vinegar are gluten-free. Heinz Hot & Spicy Ketchup Kick’rs is gluten-free as well.

As for our other Heinz products, we are not able to guarantee that all ingredients would be gluten-free, since the source of an ingredient may change from time to time. We understand how difficult it can be finding foods that meet the requirements of a restricted diet, and we continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.

Not the best list of Gluten Free items ever, but it’s a start.  I know there have been questions about some White Vinegars so knowing that the Heinz ones are safe is good. Coincidentally, Heinz Worcestershire sauce is not gluten free as of June of 2007.

Gurley’s Chocolate Chips as of July 25, 2007

From a conversation with the distributer of the chips, Gurley’s chocolate chips are gluten free.

Lays Stax chips as of July 21, 2007

From the Lays website:

Our LAY'S(r) STAX(r) chips (all flavors) are made on gluten free lines, thus all
LAY'S(r) STAX(r) products are free of gluten.

*The above products (Cheetos, Tostitos, Lay's potato chips, etc.) do not
contain gluten; however, they are produced on the same line as our products
that do contain gluten. Although the lines are washed between batches, a
slight residue may remain on the lines. Individuals who are extremely
sensitive may be affected.

If you’re sensitive to small amounts of gluten, you may experience a reaction to any of the chips besides the Stax.

Boars Head products as of July 17, 2007

From the Boars Head web page:

All Boar’s Head Brand® Meats, Cheeses and Condiments, as well as Hans Jurgen® Pickles are Gluten Free.
Of course we encourage you to always read labels, and check for any specific ingredients your doctor may want you to avoid. Always check the labels on store prepared entrees and sandwiches as they may contain gravies and sauces that contain gluten.
If you have any further questions about specific ingredients, or products other than meats, cheeses and condiments, please contact us at our Nutritional Information Line by calling 800-352-6277.

As always, do as they suggest and check the label.

Dietz & Watson Meats as of July 17, 2007

From an email response:

Nearly all Dietz & Watson Meats are gluten free except: Rotisserie Style Chicken, Scrapple, Bockwurst, Fat Free Beef Franks, Gourmet Lite Franks, Gourmet Lite Beef Franks, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Chicken Florentine and Chicken Portabella. All the rest of our meat products are free of wheat, rye, barley, and oat proteins.
Thank you for your interest in Dietz and Watson.

Note that the list is a list of items that are NOT gluten free.  Any other items are safe.

Carls Jr. or Hardees as of June 26, 2007

While unconfirmed with Carl’s Jr. or Hardees, responses from other Celiacs would indicate that the “Six Dollar Lettuce Wrap” or the “Low Carb Burger” is Gluten Free!   Responses are mixed for the fries, but the consensus says that if the fries are fried in a dedicated fryer, they are GF.

With many of the products here, it is always best to ask the personnel on hand to double check.  We all know what it feels like to eat Gluten by mistake!

Page 3 of 4«1234»

We Support

1in133.org - Support Gluten-Free Food Labeling

    

Advertisements


Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/51/9168551/tmp/sess_rh7vlq1ppnnu7f368j19847f82, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0